Skip to content

By Science Museum on

Win a stack of all six 2023 Arthur C Clarke Award shortlisted books PLUS last year’s winner

Discover new favourite authors and whole new worlds by entering our giveaway by Monday 10 July to be in with a chance to win seven science fiction books.

We teamed up with the Arthur C Clarke Award once again as part of our Science Fiction: Voyage to the Edge of Imagination exhibition celebrations and earlier this month announced the highly anticipated shortlist for the 2023 Arthur C. Clarke Award science fiction book of the year.

If that wasn’t enough, we are now offering four lucky bookworms for an exciting giveaway: win all six shortlisted novels AND last year’s winning book!

A perfect opportunity to discover some new favourite authors and whole new worlds, enter the giveaway by Monday 10 July to be in with a chance to walk away with:

DEEP WHEEL ORCADIA by Harry Josephine Giles, the 2022 Arthur C Clake Award winner


THE RED SCHOLAR’S WAKE by Aliette de Bodard

PLUTOSHINE by Lucy Kissick

THE ANOMALY by Hervé Le Tellier, translated by Adriana Hunter


METRONOME by Tom Watson

The announcement of a new Clarke Award shortlist is one of the most anticipated moments in the UK science fiction calendar. This year’s shortlist was chosen by judges from a selection of 97 eligible titles submitted by 40 UK publishing imprints and independent authors. The award is presented for the best science fiction novel of the year, and as such is selected from a list of novels whose UK first edition was published in the previous calendar year.

This year’s winning book will be revealed in August 2023. The winning author will receive a trophy in the form of a commemorative engraved bookend and prize money to the value of £2023.00; a tradition that sees the annual prize money rise incrementally by year from the year 2001 in memory of Sir Arthur C. Clarke.

The most epic exhibition in the galaxy, Science Fiction: Voyage to the Edge of Imagination, places visitors at the heart of an exciting science fiction adventure. Guided by an artificial intelligence of alien origin, board and explore a unique spaceship, scout an unknown planet, and investigate how scientists and science fiction creators have imagined and built new worlds to better understand our own.

Enter the giveaway by 10 July to be in with a chance to win all seven books.

Visit to see all of the previous winners and shortlisted authors, and follow @ClarkeAward on Twitter for all our latest news, updates and science fictional speculations.

Science Fiction: Voyage to the Edge of Imagination must close 20 August 2023. Don’t miss this once-in-a-lifetime adventure through the cosmos. Book your tickets now.